Skip to content

United Kingdom 1930 - 1938:

Scottish Command

Scottish Command covered the country of Scotland, and included Berwick-on-Tweed for Regular Army and Militia only. The headquarters of Scottish Command were located at Edinburgh Castle, the General Officer Commander-in-Chief also having the title of Governor of Edinburgh Castle. It was a Lieutenant General’s (or General’s) appointment.


There were two Areas within Scottish Command.

The Highland area comprised the counties of Perthshire, Angus, Caithness, Sutherland, Ross-shire and Cromarty, Morayshire, Nairnshire, Aberdeenshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire, Inverness-shire, Argyllshire, Buteshire, Kinross-shire, Clackmannanshire, Stirlingshire. Dumbartonshire, Renfrewshire and Fifeshire were also in the Highland Area in respect of Territorial Army units only.

The Lowland Area comprised the counties of Westlothian, Midlothian, East Lothian, Peebles-shire, Ayrshire, Wigtownshire, Berwickshire, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire, Dumfries-shire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Lanarkshire. It also included the Regular Army troops within the Forth and Clyde Fixed Defences in Renfrewshire, Dumbartonshire and Fifeshire. It also included the Regular Army and Militia stationed in Berwick-on-Tweed.

The two Area Commanders were the two General Officers Commanding the Territorial Army formations in each of the two Areas.

No Regular Army formations above unit level were stationed in Scottish Command. There was usually one Regular Army cavalry unit and three Regular Army infantry battalions stationed in Scottish Command. The two Territorial Army formations were the:

51 (Highland) Division in the Highland Area;
52 (Lowland) Division in the Lowland Area.

Back To Top