<u>Deccan District</u> (4th Indian Infantry Division) (1)

5th (Napier's) Bn. 6th Rajputana Rifles 6th (Royal Scinde) Bn. 13th Frontier Force Rifles

4th Indian Divisional Signals, Indian Signal Corps

10th (Jubbulpore) Infantry Brigade

3rd Cavalry

2nd Bn. The King's Own Scottish Borderers

1st Bn. 2nd Punjab Regiment 1st (Queen Victoria's Own Light Infantry) Bn. 7th Rajput Regiment

4th (Secunderabad) Cavalry Brigade

14th/20th King's Hussars

7th Light Cavalry Prince Albert Victor's Own Cavalry (11th Frontier Force)

3rd Field Regiment, Royal Artillery

4th Cavalry Brigade Signal Troop, Indian Signal Corps

NOTES:

1. This District also formed the headquarters for the 4th Indian Division, which was planned as the Indian Army's first formation for overseas deployment. A British officer, Major General The Honorable P. G. SCARLETT, M.C. commanded the District from 27 November 1938 until 20 October 1939. He became the first General Officer Commanding the 4th Indian Division, with Major General Lewis Macclesfield HEATH, C.B., C.I.E., D.S.O., M.C., Indian Army, assuming command of the District. The District also formed the Headquarters of the 5th Indian Infantry Division, with Major General HEATH assuming command of that operational formation. On 28 July 1940, Major General George de la Poer BERESFORD, C.B., M.C., Indian Army, p.s.c., assumed command of the Deccan District. In January 1941, Major General BERESFORD was posted to prepare for the invasion of Iraq, with Lieutenant Colonel Arthur Hugh Jay SNELLING, R.I.A.S.C., p.s.c., officiating from 24 January 1941 until 28 April 1941. Major General Chrstopher Michael MALTBY, M.C., Indian Army, p.s.c., assumed command, but he was only in the appointment for a short time, as on 18 July 1941, he was posted to Hong Kong. The next known commander of the District was Major General (Acting) Cyril Maton Periam DURNFORD, Indian Army, i.d.c., p.s.c., who was the G.O.C. from 15 October 1941 until 15 March 1942. On 11 April 1942, Southern Command was re-designated as Southern Army. The Deccan District became 106 Line of Communications Area in October 1942, with its Headquarters at Bolarum. In May 1944, it became the 172 (Secunderabad) Sub Area under command of 110 L o C Area based at Poona. Northern Command was reconstituted in November 1945, with 172 Sub Area becoming the Secunderabad Sub Area. A new Deccan Area was formed from the Headquarters of 165 Sub Area based at Deolali.

Poona (Independent) Brigade Area (1)

The Royal Tank Regiment Depot

The Poona Horse (17th Queen Victoria's Own Cavalry) (2)

1st Bn. The Somerset Light Infantry (Prince Albert's) (3) 1st Bn. The North Staffordshire Regiment (The Prince of Wales's) (4)

10th Bn. 5th Mahratta Light Infantry *(Regimental Centre)* (5) – *Belgaum* 11th Bn. 5th Mahratta Light Infantry *(Indian Territorial Force)* (6) – *Belgaum* 4th (Bhopal) Bn. 16th Punjab Regiment (7)

H.Q. Royal Bombay Sappers and Miners

Training Battalion, Royal Bombay Sappers and Miners 17th Field Company, Royal Bombay Sappers and Miners 20th Field Company, Royal Bombay Sappers and Miners 21st Field Company, Royal Bombay Sappers and Miners

NOTES:

- The Poona Brigade was designated as an Independent Brigade under command of the Southern Command. In June 1940, it formed the 7th Indian Infantry Brigade, which departed to join the 4th Indian Infantry Division in the Middle East. In 1942, the Brigade was re-designated as 166th Sub Area, under command of the 107 Lines of Communication Area based in Bombay. In May 1944, it was re-designated as the 110 Lines of Communication Area with three Sub Areas under command.
- 2. .
- 3. .
- 4. .
- 5. The Regimental Centre for the 5th Mahratta Light Infantry was located at Belgaum
- 6. This was the Territorial Force battalion of the regiment.
- 7. This Regular Indian Army battalion, it came under command of the 7th Indian Infantry Brigade on 21 September 1940. The Brigade left Bombay on 24 September 1940 bound for Egypt.

Bombay District

The Governor General's Bodyguard, Bombay

2nd Bn. The South Lancashire Regiment (The Prince of Wales's Volunteers) — Bombay and Deolali

11th Bn. 4th Bombay Grenadiers (Indian Territorial Force) – Ajmer 3rd Bn. 5th Mahratta Light Infantry – Bombay and Deolali 3rd (Royal) (Sikhs) Bn. 12th Frontier Force Regiment – Baroda 1st (Russell's) Bn. 19th Hyderabad Regiment – Ahemdabad

Mhow Brigade Area

1st Bn. The Lincolnshire Regiment – *Nisarabad* 2nd Bn. The Suffolk Regiment – *Mhow* 1st Bn. The West Yorkshire Regiment (The Prince of Wales's Own) – *Nisarabad*

10th Bn. 6th Rajputana Rifles (Regimental Centre) – Nisarabad

6th Field Regiment, Royal Artillery 28th Field Regiment, Royal Artillery

Madras District

Bangalore

1st Bn. The Wiltshire Regiment (Duke of Edinburgh's)

11th Bn. 3rd Madras Regiment (Indian Territorial Force)

'A' Indian Field Regiment, Indian Artillery
(H.Q., 1st (Madras) & 2nd Field Batteries, Indian Artillery)

H.Q. Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners

Training Battalion Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners No.32 Field Troop Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners 11th Army Troops Company, Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners 12th Field Company, Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners 14th Field Company, Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners 16th Army Troops Company, Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners 44th Divisional H.Q. Company, Queen Victoria's Own Madras Sappers and Miners

<u>Madras</u>

The Governor General's Bodyguard, Madras

1st Bn. The King's Own Royal Regiment (Lancaster)

2nd Bn. 13th Frontier Force Rifles

1st Bn. The Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers – Wellington

<u>Cannanore</u>

12th (Malabar) Bn. 3rd Madras Regiment (Indian Territorial Force) 13th (Malabar) Bn. 3rd Madras Regiment (Indian Territorial Force) 5th Bn. 7th Rajput Regiment

Mercara, Coorg

14th (Coorg) Bn. 3rd Madras Regiment (Indian Territorial Force)